The (first) Big Event

So I wrote that last entry about 18 hours before it happened. Yes, IT finally happened. It.

Saturday morning, I woke up and decided to get myself a manicure. My nails have finally started to look good since I’m not chewing on them as much as anymore, so I am trying to keep up with them.

So anyway, I get to the salon and I immediately choose a nice pink shade. Typical. Safe. Boring. However, I remembered that on Friday, I had read that bright & funky colors are TOTALLY in this summer. I put the pink bottle down and chose blue. But, not just any blue…it was pretty much straight up painters tape blue. Awesome. It seemed like a GREAT idea at the time. If only I had only known…

After I got my nails done, I went back to the apartment to clean up a little bit because both Drew’s and my parents were coming down for dinner. Andrew was BEGGING me to go down to the beach, so I finally agreed. We packed up a beach bag, some chairs, and his beer sling (yup) and walked down to Merkel Beach. 

When we got there, there were a few families walking the beach, but no one sitting. We found a spot, settled out chairs down, and chatted for a little while.

After a few minutes, Drew stood up from his chair and walked in front of mine. I thought he was going to try to flip my chair over into the sand or something, so I gripped the armrests and tensed up. The next thing I knew, he was on his knee with a diamond ring about 5 inches from my face and he asked “Emily, will you marry me?”

Now since this completely caught me off guard (kudos to him!) I shrieked “NO!”, but only because I couldn’t believe that this was actually happening. After some tears and a few “OMG!”‘s (I don’t think that punctuation is correct…but OMG isn’t exactly “correct” either, so oh well) I was finally able to get out “yesyesyes!” We celebrated on the beach with our Harpoon beers that we had packed. It was the first time in MONTHS that I had not thought about getting engaged at all.

This is DEFINITELY the best part!!!!

Leave a Reply

