Our Finest Year

A year ago, I was sitting on the edge of my seat waiting for the most exciting moment of my life to happen. The anticipation was killing me. It felt like everyone knew but me.

I remember everything and I remember nothing. I tried so hard to drink everything that was happening in that moment. Trying to remember if the tide was coming in or going out, what I was wearing, what he was wearing, what the strangers around us were wearing, whether I had my toes dug in the sand or not, what knee Drew decided to bend down on, if I had the green chair or the blue chair, whether the sun was behind the clouds or if it had come back out for a few seconds.

The only thing I remember from those 20 seconds was what he asked and what I said. I guess that’s all that matters, right?

I think what I remember most is the adrenaline and excitement I felt that whole day afterwards. Most of which I am still feeding off of now. 

The past year has been a whirl-wind. I can’t believe its been a year since this all started. I can’t believe we’ve bought a house and planned an entire wedding all in the same year. We are either really really awesome or really really insane. Unless everything falls apart in the next 30 days, we pulled it off. Obviously, with a lot of help from our nearest and dearest. If we didn’t have them, we’d probably still be in our apartment and attempting to plan a wedding that would be happening in a month.

But here we are. Twenty eight days from the most important day in my life. In typical Emily fashion, I am expecting the worst but hoping for the best. I am a pessimist even at the best of times. All I know is, I am going to miss this time in our lives so much. Just like I was a year ago, I am trying to drink everything in remember every detail of what is happening around me. 

I know that in a year, I will forget the small details. I will forget the conversations and the disagreements. I will forget why we decided certain things and why we passed over others. 

I’m trying not to though. 

But, thats what this blog is for, right? Even though I haven’t been GREAT at updating it, I’ve read back on more then one occasion to remind myself of certain things and laugh at what has happened only a few months ago. 

Here’s to remembering & heres to 28 days.

!!!!!!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

